As a member, you are able to take advantage of the benefits below:

32 FREE CME credits per year

Each year, you can earn up to 32 complimentary CME credits through your free quarterly subscription to the Journal of Surgical Orthopaedic Advances (JSOA). Each quarterly issue of the Journal has a test worth 8 category 1 CME credits. Just take the tests, send them to us for scoring, and we'll send you your certificates.

FREE Self Assessment Exam

Members can earn 10 CMEs toward their Maintenance Of Certification (MOC) Self Assessment requirements with a Self Assessment Exam (SAE) developed by SOA's MOC Committee. The SAE is designed to help orthopaedists assess their knowledge in comparison with other orthopaedic surgeons, no matter how many years in practice or level of specialization. The results of the SAE should direct orthopaedic surgeons toward areas of study that will lead to professional improvement.

To receive 10 CME credits, you must take and submit the scored & recorded exam. After submitting the exam online, you will receive feedback, the correct answers, commentary and references, as well as acknowledgement by email that you have completed the exam and your certificate. The SAE will be available at the Annual Meeting.

Self-Assessment Exam information

Journal of Surgical Orthopaedic Advances (JSOA)

A free subscription to JSOA, a quarterly publication that serves as a forum exchange of information and the presentation on new techniques and procedures, as well as updates about the ongoing educational activities of interest to all practicing orthopaedists. For additional information on JSOA click here.

Free Access to Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (CORR)

Access the monthly CORR Journal issues for free, right from your member profile!

Ortho-Preferred® Professional Liability Insurance

Ortho-Preferred®, is a nationwide professional liability insurance program created exclusively for Orthopaedic Surgeons in conjunction with Medical Protective (MedPro), a Berkshire Hathaway Company, and built on the foundation of the DT Preferred Group, LLC risk purchasing group (RPG).

The combined power of MedPro, the nation's most trusted and highest rated (A++) carrier in the healthcare liability industry and Ortho-Preferred® will bring new value to professional liability insurance for Orthopaedic Surgeons.

Individuals who join the Ortho-Preferred® program can secure member benefits that include:

  • Highly competitive premiums with specialized rate classes for Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • Access to specialized risk management courses and educational training opportunities, including materials to fulfill MOC requirements
  • Review of claim trends, risk prevention and medical education from top national orthopaedic leaders as part of the RPG’s Orthopaedic Advisory Board
  • Claims-Made, Occurrence and Convertible Claims-Made policy forms available
  • Coverage capabilities in all 50 states*
  • True consent-to-settle provision*

As a member of SOA, Ortho-Preferred® professional liability insurance is offered to you as a member benefit. To take advantage of this opportunity call 1-877-304-3565 or visit to complete an indication form and find out how much you could save on your professional liability insurance.

*Products may be underwritten by The Medical Protective Company or its affiliates, National Fire & Marine Insurance Company and MedPro RRG Risk Retention Group.  Product availability varies based upon business and regulatory approval.  Free extended reporting endorsement available to physicians who permanently retire (at any age), have been insured with MedPro for one year and have a retroactive date at least 48 months prior to the date of retirement (subject to state filing approval).

Substantial Discount to the SOA Annual Meeting

This CME experience is designed to disseminate current clinical, research, and practice innovations in orthopaedic medicine. The scientific program includes papers submitted, reviewed and selected for presentation, invited speakers presenting timely educational reviews of practice-related techniques and research findings in orthopaedic and trauma surgery and selected sub-specialty areas. Discussion of clinical information in an educational setting where common concerns are expressed and relevant experiences shared. View the Annual Meeting page.

Discounts to Regional Organizations' Annual Meetings

Eastern Orthopaedic Association
Mid-America Orthopaedic Association
Western Orthopaedic Association

Tibia Tribune

Members receive a print version of the Official SOA Newsletter, Tibia Tribune.

Peer Interaction

A link between colleagues from the same region practicing patient care in the same medical discipline.


SOA Annual Meetings provide a venue for residents/fellows to present their research studies to hundreds of orthopaedic surgery colleagues. The Presidents' Award, Harley and Betty Baxter Resident Awards, SOA/OREF Resident/Fellow Awards, and Resident/Fellow Travel Grants are presented at the Annual Meeting. The winners receive award money to travel to the Annual Meeting to present their papers.

The Distinguished Southern Orthopaedist (DSO) Award has been awarded annually since 1987. The recipient of the DSO Award, selected by the SOA Awards Committee, is an orthopaedist who has distinguished himself in the field of orthopaedics. The award is presented during SOA’s Annual Meeting. Recipients of the award include: Wood W. Lovell MD, J. Leonard Goldner MD, Alvin J. Ingram MD, Jack C. Hughston MD, Frank H. Stelling III MD, William Fisher Enneking MD, Thomas B. Dameron Jr. MD, Lewis D. Anderson MD, Charles E. Epps MD, James R. Urbaniak, MD, Thomas Whitesides Jr. MD, John A. Murray, MD, Frank C. Wilson MD, Frank H. Bassett III MD, John S. Gould MD, David Hungerford MD, Charles Engh Sr. MD, Charles A. Rockwood Jr. MD, Frank J. Frassica MD, Richard J. Haynes MD, Champ L. Baker Jr., MD, Robert S. Adelaar, MD, Banks Blackwell, MD, L. Andrew Koman, MD, Angus M. McBryde Jr, MD, FACS, James R. Andrews, MD, C. Lowry Barnes, MD, Lamar L. Fleming, MD, COL (Ret) John A. Feagin Jr., MD, Peter A. Indelicato, MD, Richard H. Gelberman, MD, James A. Nunley II, MD, Claude T. Moorman III, MD, Gregory A. Mencio, MD, and Paul F. Lachiewicz, MD