SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year

Dr. Jay ClugstonCongratulations to James R. “Jay” Clugston, MD, who will receive the 2017-2018 SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year Award, as voted on by the SEC trainers, at the meeting. 

In addition, the University of Florida College of Medicine Athletic Training Staff will receive a check for $1000.00 to be used for student athletic trainer education, courtesy of DJO Global, who has sponsored this stipend since the award's inception in 2003.

Dr. Clugston is an Associate Professor in the Department of Community Health & Family Medicine with a joint appointment in the Department of Neurology at the University of Florida College of Medicine.  He is a team physician for the UF Athletic Association, completing his 15th year covering the Gators with primary responsibility for football, men’s basketball and men’s golf.  Presently he serves on the NCAA Division I Autonomy Concussion Safety Protocol Review Committee; the Operating Committee of the NCAA/DoD Concussion Assessment, Research and Education Consortium; the Brain Trauma Foundation Evidenced Based Consortium to classify concussion subtypes; and the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine Concussion Position Statement writing group.  He directs UF Student Health’s Sports Concussion Center, which provides clinical care to UF students and performs concussion research.  In 2006, he started the UF Sports Medicine Fellowship to train primary care sports physicians after residency and currently serves as its Associate Director.