2019-2020 SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year

One of the highlights of the SOA SEC Program is a special presentation honoring the outstanding SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year, chosen by the SEC Head Athletic Trainers. We are pleased to announced Dr. Fred Reifsteck as the recipient of this distinguished award.

Dr. Fred Reifsteck serves as the head team physician for the University of Georgia Athletic Association. Board certified in family medicine with a certificate of added qualification in sports medicine, he works in the Sports Medicine Clinic at the University Health Center. Dr. Reifsteck has a BA in Biology from Knox College in Galesburg, IL, a MS in Microbiology from Illinois State University in Normal, IL, and a MD from the University of Illinois-Chicago. He has been at the University of Georgia since December 2003. He had been in private practice in the Atlanta area for the previous 13 years and was a team physician at Georgia State University and Clayton State University.

In addition, University of Georgia Athletic Training Staff will receive a check for $1,000 to be used for student athletic trainer education, courtesy of DJO Global Orthopedics, who has sponsored this stipend since the awards inception in 2003.

The SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year Award is sponsored by DJO Global and the Southern Orthopaedic Association.