2018-2019 SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year

One of the highlights of the SOA SEC Program is a special presentation honoring the outstanding SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year, chosen by the SEC Head Athletic Trainers. We are pleased to announced Dr. Joe P. Bramhall as the recipient of this distinguished award.

Dr. Bramhall completed medical school in 1985 and completed his Orthopaedic Surgery Residency in Fort Worth. He then served under James Andrews, MD in Birmingham, AL during his fellowship training in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, before returning to Texas in 1991.

Following completion of his fellowship in 1991, Dr. Bramhall returned to Bryan/College Station, Texas to begin his practice specializing in orthopaedic surgery. In addition to private practice, Dr. Bramhall has been the Team Physician and Orthopaedic Surgeon for the Texas A&M Department of Athletics since 1991, and he has served as the Director of Sports Medicine at Texas A&M University since 2001.

Dr. Bramhall was recognized as an honorary member by the Southwest Athletic Trainers Association at their 50th Annual Meeting in 2004. In May 2013, he was inducted into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in Waco, Texas. He was recognized for his contributions over the past 22 years working with the 15 surrounding high schools, along with local high schools A&M Consolidated High School and Bryan High School. He is the 2014-2015 President of the Texas Society of Sports Medicine. Congratulations to Joe P. Bramhall, MD, who will receive the 2018-2019 award at the meeting.

In addition, Texas A & M University Athletic Training Staff will receive a check for $1000.00 to be used for student athletic trainer education, courtesy of DJO Global Orthopedics, who has sponsored this stipend since the awards inception in 2003.

The SEC Athletic Orthopaedic Team of the Year Award is sponsored by DJO Global and the Southern Orthopaedic Association.